Ultimate Beginner Guide to Torrents!

Discussion in 'Archives' started by MatthewGor123, Oct 26, 2008.

1. Unread #1 - Oct 26, 2008 at 11:47 PM
  2. MatthewGor123
    Referrals:
    Sythe Gold:

MatthewGor123 Guru
    Do Not Trade

Alright, this is my first attempt at a guide so please bear with me. Before I begin, I'd just like to say - if you think I am hinting at something, I probably am. Now, while most people associate .torrent files with a method of downloading copyright protected music, movies, applications, or games, it can also be used as a more efficient method of downloading legal stuff, like free trials and whatnot, because it can yield faster download times.

I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR WHAT YOU DO WITH THIS GUIDE. IF YOU USE THIS GUIDE FOR ILLEGAL PURPOSES, I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE. It is illegal, under ANY circumstances, to download copyright protected music, movies, games, or applications that cost money that you do not own. However, it is PERFECTLY legal to download music, movies, and games for the purposes of creating a BACKUP to that which you own.

What is a torrent? Meh, for our intents and purposes - it doesn't really matter. All you have to know is that a .torrent file is basically a protocol that is interpreted by your tracker and it sends data to you in return for you sending data back out. In a nutshell. Just wiki it if you care. Very rarely, but sometimes, people fake the seeds and even files that look good are embedded with viruses. However, you can't get the virus from just using the torrent client. Before running anything you download, always scan the folder for viruses.

~~~~~
    Prerequisites:
    1. You can download torrents on any OS, but I am writing this guide for Windows XP.
    2. A steady, relatively reliable internet connection.
    3. A BitTorrent Client. For beginners, I recommend BitLord as it is extremely easy to use. http://www.bitlord.com/BitLord_1.01.exe.