How would I go about getting an IT job?

Discussion in 'Technology' started by Meeder1, Jan 21, 2012.

1. Unread #1 - Jan 21, 2012 at 1:14 PM
  2. Meeder1
    Referrals:
    Sythe Gold:

Meeder1 Grand Master

More specifically, or at least preferably a computer security job.

It's something that Ive taken a interest in recently, being nearly 16, I need to start figuring out what I want to do with my life. Being the computer geek I am, Im pretty sure something in the IT field would suit me best.

From what I've read about a computer security job, it seem's like more people say the skills are pretty much self taught, through black hat hacking, or being a white hat. Do colleges actually have classes for things like this?

As far as a general IT job goes, I'm sure colleges offer plenty of IT courses, so I dont think I would have much of a problem getting experience in that. But, I wanted to know if anyone around Sythe has an IT job, no matter what kind. Id be interested in:

What they do
    If they went to school for it, or something related to it
    The stress level of their job
    How long they've been doing it
    And their pay (If your comfortable sharing that info with me).

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

EDIT: When I say all of this, I mean how should I be preparing myself (Pre-college) to get into the IT field. Anything general, is probably best, because I'm not sure what I want to do in the IT field yet. Jobs that are offered pre-college that would give me some hands on experience with computer, programming languages I should be learning, ect.

3. Unread #2 - Jan 21, 2012 at 4:51 PM
  4. fredecus
    Referrals:
    Sythe Gold:

fredecus Apprentice