 |

07-08-2009, 12:45 AM
|
|
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 4,565
|
|
Strange message from usfine.com
Was browsing www.usfine.com when I got this message.
Paid version of AVG internet security too.
|

07-08-2009, 01:05 AM
|
|
Grand Master
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,081
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
Hmm that's odd, does this mean it's been infected with a trojan or something?
|

07-08-2009, 06:08 AM
|
|
Guru
BANNED
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,330
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
That's very odd,
You should probably ask them about it if anything.
|

07-08-2009, 06:52 AM
|
 |
Forum Addict
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: N3WF4G 4 EVA!
Posts: 515
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
Hope they're not turning into Gold4rs type of deal. Investigate further if you can.
__________________
My New Philosophy: I am a dick!
You are what you eat.
|

07-08-2009, 10:25 PM
|
 |
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
AVG sucks anyway, get a better anti-virus program.
Last edited by king protos : 07-08-2009 at 10:26 PM.
|

07-09-2009, 12:35 AM
|
|
Guru
BANNED
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: where you cant find meh :)
Posts: 1,461
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
Sounds like a personal problem
Usfine, has been a Wonderful experience for me.
It Could possibly be.. that Modzilla can Read the Language off Usfine, did you follow the link when it says if you want to download the language packets?
it could be a 3rd party source?
I_D_K 
|

07-09-2009, 12:49 AM
|
|
Newcomer
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
Sometimes Mozilla can't read the code so it will come up as a threat.
|

07-10-2009, 04:59 AM
|
|
Active Member
BANNED
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 111
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
that means usfine use thread machine to bump thread
right? that break the rule suck!!!
Last edited by girl-hooligan : 07-10-2009 at 04:59 AM.
|

07-10-2009, 03:47 PM
|
|
Apprentice
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 857
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
Looks dodgy, if I were you I wouldn't use that site; it looks as if they automatically download a Trojan upon visiting the site.
However: This is the first case I've heard of something such as this.
|

07-10-2009, 06:04 PM
|
|
Guru
BANNED
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,607
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
Is anyone here actually surprised that a gold farming website tried to install a trojan, seriously?
|

07-10-2009, 06:12 PM
|
|
Forum Addict
BANNED
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost.
Posts: 591
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dark
Is anyone here actually surprised that a gold farming website tried to install a trojan, seriously?
|
Not when you put it that way, lol
|

07-10-2009, 06:29 PM
|
|
Member
BANNED
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 98
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
why would they intentionally install one....you guys are dumb as hell.
they want more customers and if they give people trojans it fucks the customers computer......therefore no buys for USFine.
use common sense before posting a thread.
AVG sucks ass anyway thats why it found random shit.
Last edited by The Myspace Whore : 07-10-2009 at 06:29 PM.
|

07-10-2009, 08:16 PM
|
|
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 4,565
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookies
Sounds like a personal problem
Usfine, has been a Wonderful experience for me.
It Could possibly be.. that Modzilla can Read the Language off Usfine, did you follow the link when it says if you want to download the language packets?
it could be a 3rd party source?
I_D_K 
|
It came from the page itself.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Myspace Whore
why would they intentionally install one....you guys are dumb as hell.
they want more customers and if they give people trojans it fucks the customers computer......therefore no buys for USFine.
use common sense before posting a thread.
AVG sucks ass anyway thats why it found random shit.
|
Yeah it does suck ass, but this is one trojan it managed to find, so they must have picked one of the crappiest most obvious trojans in existence.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Flames
Looks dodgy, if I were you I wouldn't use that site; it looks as if they automatically download a Trojan upon visiting the site.
However: This is the first case I've heard of something such as this.
|
Gold4rs used drive by downloads on their site before too.
Last edited by Louis : 07-10-2009 at 08:30 PM.
|

07-10-2009, 08:40 PM
|
 |
Forum Addict
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 428
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
Maybe it was doing a random scan on your computer and found it as you were browsing usfine.com. My old computer would scan every half hour, so if it found a virus during the random scan as I was browsing let's say Runescape.com it would pop up like that. Even if I was on Microsoft word it would pop up every half hour saying clear or not. Mind you I didn't have AVG and I wasn't browsing shady sites like UsFine.
|

07-11-2009, 08:09 PM
|
|
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 4,565
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by XeGaJ
Maybe it was doing a random scan on your computer and found it as you were browsing usfine.com. My old computer would scan every half hour, so if it found a virus during the random scan as I was browsing let's say Runescape.com it would pop up like that. Even if I was on Microsoft word it would pop up every half hour saying clear or not. Mind you I didn't have AVG and I wasn't browsing shady sites like UsFine.
|
I turned set-time scans off, avg would only scan if I told it to.
|

07-11-2009, 08:22 PM
|
|
Guru
BANNED
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London town =]
Posts: 1,753
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
hmmm looks dodgy, i wouldnt trust it personally, buy off someone with alot of vouches on sythe 
|

07-11-2009, 09:47 PM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
it's just an advertisement on their site, nothing is going to happen to your pc and it's not their site
|

07-11-2009, 10:19 PM
|
|
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 4,565
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cryptic III
it's just an advertisement on their site, nothing is going to happen to your pc and it's not their site
|
You've just contradictred yourself.
|

07-12-2009, 02:08 PM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by Louis :)
You've just contradictred yourself.
|
how? perhaps you just can't read? let me re-write it so maybe even YOU can understand it
it's just an advertisement on their site, which is usually just an iframe of another site on their site, that iframe containing a link or an image to another site. meaning, the apparent infected site is the site the advertisement leads to, not usfine itself.
however, the only way the apparent infected site can install a trojan is if they use a signed applet which asks you for permission before it runs, or a flash exploit (old flash versions). both are normally thwarted if you use vista with UAC controls on (by default it's on) and haven't executed your browser as admin, because it wouldn't have enough permissions to save or run the file.
after investigating the site that gives the error i'm willing to bet it was a false positive.
|

07-13-2009, 03:41 PM
|
|
Guru
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: nyc
Posts: 1,793
|
|
Re: Strange message from usfine.com
It's not a real virus... Get a better internet security or Anti virus, It's basically a false positive.
Type I error, also known as an "error of the first kind", an * error, or a "false positive": the error of rejecting a null hypothesis when it is actually true. Plainly speaking, it occurs when we are observing a difference when in truth there is none. An example of this would be if a test shows that a woman is pregnant when in reality she is not. Type I error can be viewed as the error of excessive credulity.
Source: Wikipedia
|
 |
|